‘Why Lokayukta not appointed in 12 states?,’ asks Supreme Court


THE Supreme Court on Friday asked chief secretaries of 12 states to give reasons in two weeks on why Lokayukta have not been appointed there. West Bengal, Mizoram, Tripura, Orissa, Puducherry, Sikkim, Jammu & Kashmir, Telangana, Tamil Nadu have not appointed Lokayukta.

According to Livelaw, a bench of justices Ranjan Gogoi and R Banumathi asked advocate Gopal Shankaranarayanan who appeared for petitioner Ashwini Upadhyaya, lawyer and Delhi BJP leader, which are the states which have appointed Lokayukta and which ones have not?

Upadhyay has filed a PIL stating in the petition that, though the Lokpal and Lokayuktas Act 2013, received assent from the President on January 1, 2014, and came into force from January 16, 2014, the executive has not established a body to be called the “Lokpal” in the spirit of the Section 3 of the Act. The office of the Lokayukta is also vacant in many States, he submitted.


Leave a Reply

Notify of