Ranjit Mahanti

DUE to Modi-wave, the Indian Congress Party is definitely the biggest loser in the 2014 Lok Sabha polls. Where in Maharashtra, five Union ministers, five state ministers and two former Union ministers faces defeat, Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and Farooq Abdullah’s National Conference (NF) are also the big loser among them.

In Maharashtra, Union Home Minister Sushilkumar Shinde, Union Heavy Industries Minister Praful Patel,Union Minister of State for Social Justice Manikrao Gavit, Union Minister of State for Shipping Milind Deora, Union Minister of State for Coal Pratik Patil, PWD Minister Chhagan Bhujbal, Cultural Affairs Minister Sanjay Devtale, Social Justice Minister Shivajirao Moghe, Minister of State for Relief and Rehabilitation Suresh Dhas, former Union ministers Mukul Wasnik and Gurudas Kamat too lost their seats.

Despite the Modi wave, senior party leader Arun Jaitley lost to Congress’s Amarinder Singh.

Mayawati’s BSP was the other big loser with just one seat in all. Similar was the case with Farooq Abdullah’s party which could not open its account in its own state of Jammu and Kashmir.

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) also gave disappointed performances. The AA P was completely washed out from Delhi and could manage to win only 4 seats in Punjab.

These are the big losers in this election:

1)   Arvind Kejriwal (AAP) , 2) Arun Jaitley (BJP), 3) Kapil Sibal (Congress), 4) Ajay Maken (Congress), 5) Farooq Abdullah (NC), 6) Ajit Singh (RLD), 7) Sachin Pilot (Congress), 8) Kumar Vishwas, (AAP), 9) Raj Babbar (Congress), 10) Ashutosh (AAP), 11) Smriti Z Irani (BJP), 12) Rita Bahuguna Joshi (Congress), 13) Raj Mohan Gandhi (AAP), 14) Sriprakash Jaiswal (Congress),
15) Jayant Chaudhary (RLD), 16) Kadir Rana (BSP), 17) Imran Masood (Congress).

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments