LEADING organisations of Journalist and non-Journalist newspaper and news agency employees as well as prominent institutions of media persons in Maharashtra have formed a Joint Action Committee (JAC) to press for the implementation of the Justice Majithia Wage Boards Awards, as mandated by the Supreme Court of India.

The JAC has decided to hold a May Day open interactive session on Sunday, 1st of May 2016 at either the Mumbai Press Club Hall or the Mumbai Marathi Patrakar Sangh Hall from 12 noon onwards. Efforts are underway to invite Maharashtra Government representatives to address the session.

In a preparatory meet held at the Brihanmumbai Union of Journalists (BUJ) Hall, various teams were set up to handle different tasks.

The teams are:

Legal Team: C P Jha, Shashi Srivastava, Alex D’Souza, Abhay Joshi, Mahesh Rajput, Rennie Abraham and Shashikant Singh.

Liaison Team: Indra Kumar Jain, Prakash Sawant, Khanduraj Gaikwad, Ghanashyam Bhadekar, Mrityunjay Bose and Kiran Naik.

Accounts and Finance Team: Suresh Nandi, Indra Kumar Jain, Shashi Srivastava, Jayesh Madhav

RTI Team: Shashikant Singh, Narayan Uchil and Vinod Jaiswal.

Participating organisations in the JAC include: Brihanmumbai Union of Journalists (BUJ), Mumbai Press Club, Marathi Patrakar Parishad, Mumbai Marathi Patrakar Sangh, UNI Employees’ Federation , Maharashtra Media Employees’ Union (MMEU), Indian National Press Group Employees’ Union ( INPGEU) , The Times and Allied Publications Employees’ Union, Maharashtra Mantralaya Vidhimandal Patrakar Sangh, Nagpur Shramik Patrakar Sangh, Pune Patrakar Sangh, Hindi Patrakar Sangh and Gujarati Patrakar Sangh.

The next meeting of the JAC will be held in the BUJ Hall on 20 April 2016 at 2 p.m.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments